Return to Vegetarian and Vegan Society Forum Home
welcome to the vegetarian and vegan society of queensland forum
visitor from 173.245.54.213
*Regist─ôr*, login, recent posts, help, forum rules
sitemap



Yeast for baking
Yeast
Stephen Lacey
ID#: 2598
blank gif
3:55:02 PM on 07-01-2004
I really love to bake my own pizza bases but all the best recipes require dried yeast. I checked out some yeast at the supermarket and healthfood store and all of it contained e491, sorbitan monostearate which apparently can be derived from non-vegan sources. Can anybody enlighten me as to what brands of dried yeast are vegan friendly?
Eve Spencer
ID#: 2600
Vegetarian and Vegan Society of Queensland member
blank gif
5:27:04 PM on 07-01-2004
Hello Stephen, and welcome to this forum. I don′t have the information that you want, but surely yeast is yeast, completely vegan? However, there are some people whose veganism is spent avoiding specific ′bad′ ingredients.  There is an article in the current issue of Vegan Voice that is actually a reprint from the US Vegan Outreach. If I may quote part of a sentence: "... we stress that the essence of being vegan is working to end cruelty to animals."

Sometimes there aren′t clear cut answers. But as this is apparently important to you, I hope someone will give the lowdown on sorbitan monostearate. Incidentally my list shows e491 as possibly gm and possible of animal origin.
Stephen Lacey
ID#: 2616
blank gif
8:00:19 AM on 08-01-2004
Thanks Eve
Yeast may be yeast but I′m not sure what e491 is.
I don′t see how somebody can call themselves vegan/Vegetarian and not be aware of animal sourced additives in products? What′s the difference in eating a lump of meat or eating an ingredient that has been sourced from a lump of meat?
Dark Horse
Moderator

ID#: 2624
Vegetarian and Vegan Society of Queensland member
blank gif
12:22:37 PM on 08-01-2004
And hello from me too, Stephen.  My codebreaker doesn′t have e491 - just 491, and it says that it is made synthetically from stearic acid and sorbitol.  An English list I have seen somewhere says that anything with an E prefix is usually animal.  Why don′t you contact the manufacturer and ask them to reply in writing?

I believe Tandaco is vegan. Cerebos make it. And I was going to direct you to a thread "bread" under Veggie Speak, but for the life of me, I can′t find it when I scroll down!  Computers are not my thing, so i don′t know what I have done.  Anyway see if you can pick it up from
http://cwpp.slq.qld.gov.au/vvsq/forum_messages.asp?Thread_ID=82&Topic_ID=1

Hope you find your yeast!!
gmellor
ID#: 2626
blank gif
1:08:09 PM on 08-01-2004
Additives that are prefixed with "E" are not usually animal. I don′t know what the E signifies here in Australia, but if you read a English list, then all it means is "European Community" because in Europe all food additives are assigned an "E number."

Take a look at
http://www.vegsoc.org/info/enumbers.html
to see a list of E numbers.

It does list 491, but unfortunately all it says is "Can be produced from both vegetarian and non-vegetarian sources"

Regards
Gerry
Dark Horse
Moderator

ID#: 2627
Vegetarian and Vegan Society of Queensland member
blank gif
1:14:01 PM on 08-01-2004
Thanks for that information, gmellor.  I was given a list a few years ago by an Eglish woman and it had a whole block of E numbers.  She told me to steer clear of all of those as it was most likely they were animal based, but thanks for clarifying that.
Eve Spencer
ID#: 2631
Vegetarian and Vegan Society of Queensland member
blank gif
5:07:23 PM on 08-01-2004
Stephen, if you go to http://www.bryngollie.freeserve.co.uk/Enumbers.htm
you will find a complete list of all E codes. I did print out the list, and that′s where I got the info that I listed above, and Gerry is right, E means European.
jackqueline
ID#: 3939
blank gif
11:48:10 AM on 26-05-2004
Stephen,  I would also like to bake my own bread.  If you have found a vegan yeast can you let me know the name etc?  Thank you
Eve Spencer
ID#: 3940
Vegetarian and Vegan Society of Queensland member
blank gif
4:45:27 PM on 26-05-2004
hello jackqueline, welcome to this forum. I do hope that Stephen give you the info you′re after.
jackqueline
ID#: 4104
blank gif
1:07:59 PM on 25-06-2004
A bit delayed I know but I thought there might be others who are interested...Below is an email I received from Tandaco about their yeast.  For a while I have been avoiding using any dried yeast and trying instead to use fresh yeast (which I would think would not need emulsifier).  The email does not say vegan but it would seem that is the case.  (I should say I received a response from Tandaco within 20 minutes of sending my email, very impressive).



Good afternoon Jackqueline,

Thank you for contacting our Consumer Relations department regarding Tandaco Dry Yeast.

Emulsifer 491 is derived from vegetable and therefore suitable for vegetarians.

In the mean time if there is anything else that we can assist you with, please contact us on [email protected] or freecall 1800 656 115.

Regards

Helen Wood
Customer Service Representative
Consumer Relations
Cerebos Australia Ltd
1800 656 115
| webmaster | top of page | forum home | report problem |


Website by Kings Online © 2001 - 2010